Posted by & filed under News.

Chatman bests 9 candidates, Close to Event Host Beyer

Alexandria, VA – At Saturday night’s annual Mardi Gras fundraiser for the Mt. Vernon Democratic Committee, every campaign seeking to replace retiring Congressman Jim Moran came out in force. And, on a night when eleven candidates were hoping to shine, Lavern Chatman took center stage with her strong second place finish in the evening’s straw poll. With 83 votes, Lavern lost only to event host and candidate Don Beyer.

“We have a lot of momentum in terms of community support, early fundraising success and now this straw poll” said Lavern. “For the last three weeks, we’ve been connecting to voters, listening to their concerns, and looking for solutions together. I think tonight proves that people are responding to our message, that this election is about getting things done for our community.”

The second place finish is even more impressive when you consider Chatman is a first-time candidate and is running against a large group of elected officials, who failed to drum up enough support to hold off Chatman’s surging campaign. While the straw poll is only one of many milestones in the 8th District Democratic Primary, Chatman is poised to generate a wide range of diverse support needed to win.

Chatman is a Northern Virginia native from a working class family, where her mother spent thirty years as a U.S. Postal employee and her father was an automobile mechanic. She is a community leader, mentor of young men and women, and a champion for small business.  She was a volunteer with America’s Promise and served as President and CEO of the Northern Virginia Urban League where she led efforts to eliminate the educational achievement gap and delivered transformational programs to underserved communities in the 8th District.


Vote Totals  MVDC Mardi Gras

1. Don Beyer: 105/25%
2. Lavern Chatman: 83/20%

3. Patrick Hope: 81/19%
4. Mark Sickles: 51/12%
5. Adam Ebbin: 42/10%
6. Charniele Herring: 15/3%
7. Bill Euille: 11/2%

8. Alfonso Lopez: 11/2%
9. Derek Hyra: 7
10. Mark Levine: 7
11. Bruce Shuttleworth: 3
419 votes cast